The Global Development And Environment Institute



Search GDAE

Subscribe for
E-mail Updates

Leontief Prize

Recent Publications

Media Room

Upcoming Events

Publicaciones en Español

Publications en Francais

Publications in Chinese

Jobs and Resources


Leontief Home | Leontief 2014 | Other Recipients

Biographies of 2014 Leontief Award Recipients:

Angus Deaton
Dr. Angus Deaton

Dr. Angus Deaton is the Dwight D. Eisenhower Professor of Economics and International Affairs at Princeton University. Dr. Deaton's research areas include health, economic development, and the analysis of household behavior, especially at the microeconomic level. His current research focuses on the determinants of health in rich and poor countries, as well as on the measurement of poverty in India and around the world. His book, “The Great Escape: Health, Wealth, and the Origins of Inequality,” is scheduled for publication in late 2013. Dr. Deaton previously taught at Cambridge University and the University of Bristol. He is a corresponding Fellow of the British Academy, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the Econometric Society and, in 1978, was the first recipient of the Society's Frisch Medal. He served as President of the American Economic Association in 2009. He received a B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. from Cambridge University and has received honorary degrees from the University of Rome, Tor Vergata, and from University College, London.

James K. Galbraith
Dr. James K. Galbraith

Dr. James K. Galbraith holds the Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. Chair in Government/Business Relations and a professorship of Government at the University of Texas at Austin. His research focuses on the measurement and understanding of inequality in the world economy. He is the author of several hundred journal articles and six books, including “Inequality and Industrial Policy: A Global View” and “Created Unequal: The Crisis in American Pay.” His most recent book is “Inequality and Instability: A Study of the World Economy Just Before the Great Crisis” (Oxford University Press, 2012). Dr. Galbraith is also a Senior Scholar with the Levy Economics Institute; Chair of the Board of Economists for Peace and Security, and director of the University of Texas Inequality Project. He is a former executive director of the U.S. Congress Joint Economic Committee and was an architect of the modern procedures of congressional monetary policy oversight. He studied economics as a Marshall Scholar at King's College, Cambridge, and holds economics degrees from Harvard University (BA) and Yale University (Ph.D.).


Tufts University Logo

Global Development And Environment Institute
Tufts University
44 Teele Avenue, Somerville, MA 02144 USA
Tel: 617-627-3530 | Email:

Copyright © 2002 – Tufts University