The Global Development And Environment Institute



Search GDAE

Subscribe for
E-mail Updates

Leontief Prize

Recent Publications

Media Room

Upcoming Events

Publicaciones en Español

Publications en Francais

Publications in Chinese

Jobs and Resources


Leontief Home | Other Recipients

2018 Leontief Prize Winners:
Mariana Mazzucato and Branko Milanovic

Awardees to lecture on the theme:
"Globalization, Innovation, and Inequality"
April 17, 2018 at 4:00
Coolidge Room, Ballou Hall 2nd floor, Tufts University, Medford, MA

Read a summary of the event

GDAE will award its 2018 Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought to Mariana Mazzucato and Branko Milanovic. This year's award recognizes Dr. Mazzucato for her path-breaking research on the positive role of governments in fostering innovation and Dr. Milanovic for his vital contributions to measuring and responding to global income inequality.

“The topic of innovation receives a lot of attention these days,” said GDAE Co-Director Neva Goodwin. “What has been insufficiently recognized, before the work of Mariana Mazzucato, is the critical role of governments in innovation and hence the role of the public sector in the process of wealth creation. Her work argues for concrete ways to make sure both the risks and the rewards are better shared so that smart growth is also more inclusive growth.”

Goodwin continued, “We also feel honored to salute Branko Milanovic for his creative application of economic tools and analysis to the topics of inequality, domestically and globally. His methodology, including an innovative analysis of global income inequality between all individuals in the world, has become a reference point for understanding our highly unequal world, and the ways in which change is, and is not, taking place.”

GDAE awards the Leontief Prize each year to leading theorists who have developed innovative work in economics that addresses contemporary realities and supports just and sustainable societies.

Download the full Announcement of the winners (PDF)

Download and share event flyer (PDF)

Dr. Mariana Mazzucato

Dr. Mariana Mazzucato holds the Chair in the Economics of Innovation and Public Value and is Director of the Institute for Innovation & Public Purpose, University College London (UCL). A Tufts University alumna, Professor Mazzucato earned her PhD in Economics at the New School for Social Research, NY. Her highly-acclaimed book The Entrepreneurial State: debunking public vs. private sector myths was on the Financial Times’ 2013 Books of the Year list. Dr. Mazzucato advises policy makers around the world on innovation-led growth. Her current research includes work on Innovation-fuelled, Sustainable, Inclusive Growth (ISIGrowth), Distributed Global Financial Systems for Society (Dolfins), Rethinking Medical Innovation, and a project on mission-oriented innovation policies with the Inter-American Development Bank. Her new book, The Value of Everything, will be published in 2018.

Learn more about Dr. Mazzucato | Follow @MazzucatoM

Dr. Branko MilanovicDr. Branko Milanovic is a Visiting Presidential Professor at the Graduate Center City University of New York and Senior Scholar at the Stone Center for Socio-economic Inequality. He served as lead economist in the World Bank’s Research Department for almost 20 years, leaving to write his influential book on global income inequality, Worlds Apart (2005). Dr. Milanovic’s main area of work is income inequality, in individual countries and globally, including in pre-industrial societies. His new book, Global Inequality (2016), was awarded the Bruno Kreisky Prize for the best political book of 2016 and was translated into twelve languages. It addresses economic and political effects of globalization, including the concept of successive “Kuznets waves” of inequality driven by technology and globalization.

Learn more about Dr. Milanovic | Follow @BrankoMilan

About the Leontief Prize
GDAE inaugurated its economics award in 2000 in memory of Nobel Prize-winning economist and GDAE advisory board member Wassily Leontief. The Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought recognizes economists whose work, like that of the institute and Leontief himself, combines theoretical and empirical research to promote a more comprehensive understanding of social and environmental processes. The inaugural prizes were awarded in 2000 to John Kenneth Galbraith and Nobel Prize winner Amartya Sen.

GDAE was founded in 1993 with the goal of promoting a better understanding of how societies can pursue their economic and community goals in an environmentally and socially sustainable manner. The Institute develops textbooks and course materials, published on paper and on its web site, that incorporate a broad understanding of social, financial and environmental sustainability. The Institute also carries out policy-relevant research on climate change, the role of the market in environmental policy, and globalization and sustainable development.

In addition to Amartya Sen and John Kenneth Galbraith, GDAE has awarded the Leontief Prize to Paul Streeten, Herman Daly, Alice Amsden, Dani Rodrik, Nancy Folbre, Robert Frank, Richard Nelson, Ha-Joon Chang, Samuel Bowles, Juliet Schor, Jomo Kwame Sundaram, Stephen DeCanio, José Antonio Ocampo, Robert Wade, Bina Agarwal, Daniel Kahneman, Martin Weitzman, Nicholas Stern, Michael Lipton, C. Peter Timmer, Albert O. Hirschman (posthumous), Frances Stewart, Angus Deaton, James K. Galbraith, Duncan Foley, Lance Taylor, Amit Bhaduri, Diane Elson, James K. Boyce, and Joan Martinez-Alier.

Thanks to our Sponsors
GDAE would like to thank the Tufts Institute of the Environment and Tufts University's Offce of Alumni Relations for their generous sponsorship of this year's event.


Tufts University Logo

Global Development And Environment Institute
Tufts University
44 Teele Avenue, Somerville, MA 02144 USA
Tel: 617-627-3530 | Email:

Copyright © 2002 – Tufts University